Testimonials

Every one of my clients has a special place in my heart. Here are some very sweet words from a few of them:

received_10156907283675305

Brittany Weatherly. Baby Decker born May 2016

“My birth experience was amazing! I would not go back and change a thing! With my first son I had an epidural and ended in a c-section!! Needless to say I did not want this again! I was taking a birthing class and heard a lot about doulas and was able to contact Kiera! We met a little late in the game because of me but she was wonderful about it! We met once before the birth and had a almost birthing evening! That’s a whole other story in itself. When it was finally time we got to the hospital Kiera was right behind us and I was 6 cm dilated! When the pain started coming she was right there and knew just what to do!! I was not able to get in the shower like planned but it all happened so fast! I would recommend her to anyone if fact I really wish my younger sister lived closer I would have definitely had them meet! Thank you so much for all that you did Kiera you are amazing.”

fb_img_1487909318283Courtney Miles. Baby Joselynne born August 2016

“Kiera was absolutely amazing! From all aspects, she educated me beyond belief even though it was my third child I learned so much from her. She’s empowering and was amazing keeping me going and positive during my birth. She had so many tips and tricks that worked wonders, and the simplest things that she brought to the table made the world of difference! I would recommend Kiera to my closest of friends and family. Keep up your beautiful work Kiera!”

fb_img_1487908956719-1Lisa Keeney. Baby Matthew born June 2016 (credit Lisa Anne Photography)

“I had a wonderful experience with Kiera.  She was kind, patient, and so very sweet.  This was my fifth baby to be born and although I should have been a pro at this already, it was a high risk pregnancy and I was pretty much freaking out daily.  Kiera called and texted to check up on me regularly.  We met for a pre-birth meeting and she gave me so much information and things to think about regarding the delivery.  I am so thankful that I was able to work with Kiera.  I ended up having an unscheduled c-section at 36 weeks and the relaxation and breathing exercises that Kiera educated me on were a lifesaver to keep me calm in a very scary situation.  Even though this birth had so many bad things surrounding it with my health and the baby’s health, it was my best labor and delivery experience to date and a large part of that is because of Kiera and the support she offered me.”

baby-kailynnMichelle Baker. Baby Kaillyn born October 2016 (credit Michelle B. Photography)

“Kiera is beyond amazing. She has such a wonderful and relaxing demeanor about her. She helped me get the perfect game plan for my second birth and we had such a beautiful experience thanks to her. I had my dream birth. Without her help and coaching and amazing knowledge of relaxation methods, I’m not sure I would have been able to do it on my own.”

received_10154885925538850Marina Vatchenkova. Baby Adrian born September 2016

“When we hired Kiera to be our doula and help us fulfill our birth plan, we didn’t even realize how valuable of an asset she is going to be! Not only she made our experience memorable, assisted in sticking to our plan of having natural unmedicated delivery, helped me to progress and push through a very long (42 hours) but still magical labor, she just became an essential part of it, integrating very gently in this intimate process. She truly became a member of our small team (me, my husband and our baby Adrian). She sticked with us for 2 long sleepless nights, was there when we needed, respected our space and gave us privacy in the right moments, cried with us when baby finally came into this world. I simply don’t have enough digits to describe our experience with her. But if I had to squeeze it in few words (despite her high level of professionalism), I’d say passionate, empathetic and intuitive! We loved her and appreciate every minute she dedicated to us making this life changing event unforgettable.”

point-blur_jan082017_231211

Sarah Hoefflin. Baby Elijah born November 2016

“I am beyond happy that we found Kiera to be our doula for our second birth experience. I knew that I wanted the birth of our youngest son to be completely opposite than my first birth seven years ago. Kiera’s guidance and support helped me form a birth plan that would give me control over my entire birth experience. Her calm demeanor helped me stay focused even when my birth did not go the route I expected. I struggled with anxiety this past pregnancy and she helped me through each and every one. I truly believe that Kiera’s calming techniques and her help with spinning babies positions is what expedited our birth. She helped me to not be afraid to ask for help and to advocate for my birth and my baby. Thank you, Kiera! I look forward to having Kiera by our side with any other future births.”

received_652123458640Jessica Polanco. Baby Liam born December 2016

“We hired Kiera as our doula for my third pregnancy. My previous pregnancy had ended in a devastating loss and my husband and I were super anxious and decided to hire a doula to help during the pregnancy, the birth and postpartum period. When I had my first son, my labor did not go as wanted and I wanted help to come up with a birth plan and get support. Kiera was WONDERFUL. She kept in touch during my pregnancy always asking me if I was okay or if I needed anything. When I told her some trouble I was having with my OB, she volunteered to come to an appointment with me so she could meet him! I was so grateful for that. We spoke on the phone several times and also via text message. She gave us resources to read during my pregnancy and answered any questions we had. She even went beyond and invited me over to her house when I was having a particularly difficult week with my anxiety. When Kiera went away for Thanksgiving we feared she wouldn’t be around for when I went into labor. She worked very hard to find someone to stand in her place just in case which we appreciated. She did not stop until we found someone we were both comfortable with. We are both grateful I did not go into labor while she was away because was amazing during my labor. She kept up with my needs and my husbands needs. She was not pushy at all and listened to me and my husband. I am 100% sure my labor would not have gone as smoothly as it did had we not had Kiera in the room. She helped with with positioning and helped keep me hydrated. She used essential oils to help keep me calm. There was always a washcloth on my forehead without having to ask. She spoke to me and kept me calm as my anxiety levels were through the roof. She helped take pictures of our momentous occasion without hesitation. After our little miracle was born she stayed and continued to help us with whatever we needed. Kiera will forever be a part of our family. We are SO very grateful to have found her.”

carlasphotos-45

Carla Gajardo. Baby Sofia born January 2017

(photo by myself;  Kiera Curtis- Gentle Waves Birth Services)

We loved Kiera’s professionalism. She is super dedicated, thoughtful, lovely and passionate. Her sympathy is adorable and she put her heart into our pregnancy. I, Carla, know Kiera for years but as a family since may 2016.

We decided to make Kiera our partner in this journey. Wonderful journey! When I was approximately 4 months pregnant, i found myself a little bit lost in some terms about what was happening to my body, and I did not hesitate to talked to my lovely boyfriend, Travis about somone who could give me some good advice/information about pregnancy, so we thought about Kiera, she was perfect for us, amazing doula and she still is (We communicate very often). She is very open minded and so helpful. She gave us books to understand pregnancy. CDs, answer to all our questions, her love for what was happening and knowledge.  I got to mention she took pictures of the birth and they are really adorable, precious moments captured that honestly I wouldn’t remember it all if it wasn’t for her talent into photography.  We happily say thank you for this important role you have Kiera.

jenn-and-richard

Jennifer Santos. Baby Richard born January 2017

“I was lucky beyond belief that due to last minute changes, Kiera was able to provide doula support to Bryan and myself during childbirth. She was so helpful- both to myself, and in supporting my husband as well. My whole childbirth experience all in all was a lot more than I expected, and even traumatic to an extent. Her knowledge, presence and even her cooperation with other services I utilized were absolutely invaluable.”

 

laurasbirth-45

Laura Rardon. Baby Silas born February 2016

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

My husband and I had the wonderful opportunity to work with Kiera during my pregnancy and labor. During our first meeting, I
knew that Kiera was a great fit because of her calm and gentle nature. Right away she listened to my wishes for my pregnancy and labor and lent me a plethora of books directly addressing my concerns and topics that I wanted to learn more about. Specifically, I was interested in learning Hypnobirthing techniques, and did not have the ability to take classes in the local area. Kiera helped me learn about and feel very comfortable practicing hypnobirthing techniques leading up to my delivery. During our prenatal visits, Kiera was immensely helpful, talking through birth related fears with me, offering many helpful suggestions on how to work through them in a healthy way. She also did a thorough job showing my husband and I Spinning Babies and rebozo techniques to practice at home leading up to and during labor. Once we arrived at the hospital during labor, Kiera went to work immediately, ensuring a calm and peaceful atmosphere, complete with positive affirmations posted on the walls in every corner of the hospital room. This made such a difference! Keira’s work with my husband during labor was seamless, as if it was rehearsed many times. She was such a great asset to the birthing room, setting a calm a positive atmosphere, and made sure that my husband had all of the tools that he needed in order to comfort and help me through my labor drug free. Kiera ended up staying with me in the hospital through labor, delivery, and post delivery, which was about 24 hours. She never skipped a beat! I really couldn’t have asked for a better support person to help me navigate a very long and exhausting labor.

selenaannouncement

Ashley Kapic. Baby Selena born March 2016

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

I met Kiera very early in my pregnancy and quickly decided I wanted to have her with me on my journey to motherhood. I was truly uninformed about birth options but had a very open mind. Kiera was always quick to answer my questions and would always provide me with great articles and videos to watch if I were interested in a particular birth subject! She also was sweet enough to loan me some amazing books. Throughout pregnancy and during labor, Kiera was thoughtful, sincere, and oh so helpful in every possible way. She provided comfort measures and most importantly believed in me and gave me strength. Not only was she helpful to me, but to my husband as well! We both highly recommend Kiera and wouldn’t hesitate to hire her again when we plan for baby #2! I also took advantage of the placenta encapsulation services that her husband, Matthew, offers. Because they work as a team, it was so easy for Kiera to take my placenta with her to have encapsulated quickly. I’m so glad I chose to do this! I feel happy, energized, and truly believe in its benefits.Thank you so much Kiera And Matthew! You’ve made our experience an amazing one!

laurensbirth-30

Lauren Perry. Baby Phoenix born February 2017

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

I knew Kiera was the perfect addition to my birth team when we first met, which was fairly early on in my pregnancy. She has a very calming and caring demeanor, and she also takes her work very seriously. I felt that I could trust her right away, and that sense of reliability was important to me. I felt I could trust in her knowledge, her commitment, and her ability to support me throughout my pregnancy and birth. Kiera regularly contacted me throughout my pregnancy to see how things were progressing. At about 34/35 weeks we had a wonderful visit and at that point were preparing for a hypnobirth and talked about different cues and meditations that I wanted to try, among a number of other things. It was so nice to sit and talk with someone who was so completely focused on me, my baby, and the birth that I had envisioned. To find that kind of support, especially from someone other than my spouse, was invaluable. Unfortunately, I found out at 36 weeks and 3 days that I would have to have a cesarean at 37 weeks exactly, and the circumstances were fairly life threatening. Kiera, once again, was immediately checking on me and also reassuring me that i could still have a beautiful birth experience under these new circumstances. We discussed gentle cesarean techniques and I was able to incorporate most of them into my c-section. Although the hospital wouldn’t allow her in the OR, she was with me prior to surgery and did everything to keep me calm and happy: aromatherapy, massage, heating pads, and positive conversation. She also acted as our birth photographer and captured some really special moments between my husband and I. After delivery, she stayed for hours which was so needed as the medications lingered and left me feeling out of sorts for awhile. She anticipated my every need, which allowed my husband to relax and enjoy our new baby while I regained my strength. Since I couldn’t utilize her full services as a birth doula, Kiera offered to provide me with some additional postpartum support at home. She came to my house, played with and cared for my older children while I napped with the baby, did laundry, made me a nice antimicrobial concoction to help with my mastitis, and most importantly has been a friend during what can otherwise be a very isolating time. I’m now one month postpartum and she is still checking in on all of us regularly. My husband and I have reflected on this birth experience, and we agree that with all of the unexpected events and things that were flat-out scary, Kiera was the one ‘constant’ that we had. Without her, I may have struggled to accept things that were out of my control, and my cesarean would have certainly felt more medical than magical. I highly recommend Kiera to anyone wanting to make the most of their pregnancy and birth, and I will hopefully be a client of hers again one day.

collyn-94Collyn Morgan. Baby Corrie born April 2017

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

Kiera made my second baby’s birth such a positive experience for me. Throughout the whole pregnancy, Kiera constantly checked in on me, sent me countless resources, helped me practice hypnobirthing techniques and meditations, and even let me borrow some of her birth books. Her encouraging attitude and sweet spirit were exactly what I needed, and her calming presence helped support me in having my dream birth experience. She was there every step of the way. When she got to my hospital room, she hung up birth affirmations all around the room and made it such a safe and relaxing environment for me. Kiera is also an amazing birth photographer and captured some truly beautiful and raw photos of my daughter’s birth. Anyone that hires Kiera to be their doula is truly going to be blessed by her and love her. I highly recommend her!

tiffany-67Tiffany Hansler. Baby Landon born June 2017

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

Kiera is amazing! She is full of positive calming energy. I definitely wouldn’t have been able to have to birth I wanted without her calming support. She not only motivated me to keep going but her calming energy helped calm my husband and together they became an amazing team!

ameliabirth-56Amelia Coulomb. Baby Cohen born June 2017

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

My husband and I moved to Norfolk from Richmond 36 weeks into my pregnancy! We had always entertained the idea of hiring a doula, but after meeting with our new midwives at our new hospital, it became even more clear to us that we needed someone on our team that made us feel safe and calm. Kiera was just that. We hired her at 37 weeks and I ended up going into labor a week later! We didn’t really get the chance to have our prenatal meetings with her but she was such a great support via phone and text when I had questions about my prelabor symptoms and working through contractions and exercises. During our labor, she kept us calm and focussed and helped progress my labor by suggesting new positions. She kept both my husband and I comforatble, hydrated and nourished throughout my labor. She even snagged a few photos during our labor and during our first moments as a new family that we will cherish forever. Since we didn’t have the opportunity to have our prenatal meetings, Kiera offered wonderful post partum support in person, over the phone and via text. We also had her encapsulate my placenta and those pills saved me from post partum anxiety. We are so happy that we hired Kiera to be a part of our team. We would have been lost without her.

IMG_063601Whitney Babb. Baby Caroline born July 2017.

(Photo by: Michelle Lynn Photographic Artist)

If you’re even thinking about hiring a doula, do it, and hire Kiera to be part of your birth team! She was such an integral part of my home birth experience. When I was feeling a little overwhelmed with all of the people that were present for the birth, she helped my husband and I find a calm and quiet space to get our heads back in the game. She comes prepared with plenty of useful tools and knowledge and has the most calming and reassuring presence. I absolutely loved working with her and if there is ever a baby #4, you can bet that she will be the first person I call to join me.

 hilary-17Hiliary Muse. Baby Maurice born September 2017.

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

I just recently gave birth to my son on September 3rd and was very happy with the services I received from Kiera. I decided to go with a doula because going into labor as a first time mom and having anxiety. Kiera is very kind hearted, encouraging and knowledgeable. I knew at the first meeting that I would use her as my doula. Kiera understood my goals for my birth plan and provided book resources for me to be prepared ahead of time for the birth. I like that Kiera was available for questions whenever I had them.  My birth didn’t go according to plan, however with Kiera’s help ahead of time, I was able to make quick decisions and quickly adjust to the necessary changes. Kiera helped me to stay as calm and as positive as I could be to have a memorable experience. She also captured the important moments that can easily be forgotten.  I highly recommend Kiera as a doula. She is highly experienced and is a ray of positivity that is needed to get through any labor.


chelseatestimonialChelsea Spady. Baby Saylor born October 2017.

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

Kiera has such a big heart for mommas and their babies! I can’t thank her enough for the support she showed my family and I throughout. From Day 1 Kiera was there for me when I needed her. After many text conversations, phone calls and in person meetings at my home Kiera and I truly bonded as we prepared to bring my daughter into the world. She was so incredibly respectful of my husband’s role as birth partner and included him on everything. She is a wealth of knowledge and can always offer such encouraging words of wisdom. She provided such incredible natural techniques to help me dilate and move labor along. As a first-time mom things were moving very slow. Her back rubs in my home and her foot rubs in the hospital helped me through each contraction. Once I was admitted to the hospital after a few days of contractions she was supportive of my decision to have an epidural. We both knew I had very little rest and could not eat anything for the last 48 hours. She knew I needed to build my strength to push and the epidural proved to be a good decision for me. After a long hard labor I pushed baby out in less than 30 minutes! I attribute this success to the chiropractor Kiera recommended early on in our first meeting. I started Webster Technique therapy with Dr.Schwab at 34 weeks. This is a specialization in pelvic alignment and balance for a strait shot exit for baby 🙂 It worked! Kiera also captured the magical moments that our daughter was coming into the world in the most breathtaking photos. Every family member has cried when reviewing them. I am so glad we have them. Kiera visited us for our postpartum visit this past week. She let me talk about everything I had been through, share some of the emotions I was feeling and ask many questions about baby care. She loved on Saylor and changed her diaper while I put my feet up. What a sweetie!! The Spady family loves you Kiera. Thank you!!


devon-11-2Devon Reimert. Baby Marin born October 2017.

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

We hired Kiera as our doula for my second pregnancy. I desperately wanted a different experience from my first birth, and hiring a doula was the first item on the list to achieving that goal! Kiera’s role in my VBAC birth story is truly irreplaceable! Her positive mindset surrounding pregnancy and birth was just what I needed to prepare for a VBAC and natural birth. Kiera provided knowledge, resources, and support both throughout my pregnancy and during our two prenatal visits. She made herself readily available to discuss the ins and outs of my pregnancy when things didn’t go as planned, such as a gestational diabetes diagnosis and GBS+ test result. When it came to my labor, Kiera was available for questions and provided suggestions for helping labor progress until we were ready for her to be there. Without her with us at the hospital I don’t think we could’ve advocated for ourselves as well as we did, and without that I don’t think we would’ve achieved our VBAC! I cannot recommend Kiera enough. If you’re looking for a doula, please reach out to Kiera!

milayabirthfamily-17Milaya Crowder. Baby Eowyn born June 2017.

(Photo by: Myself, Kiera Curtis with Gentle Waves Birth Services)

Kiera was such a peaceful presence during my labor and delivery. She took absolutely beautiful pictures without taking away from the moment. To be honest I didn’t realize she was taking them – which is a huge talent in birth photography: to not distract mama from labor. Her voice was soft and encouraging during labor, and afterwards she had words of empowerment. In addition to the beautiful photos she took, she also encapsulated my placenta. It was delivered promptly at my house oncce I got home from the hospital. After 2 days of taking the capsules I felt more energy, bled less, and had a substantial increase in milk production. Kiera is very professional, kind, and efficient in all of her services. I recommend her to everyone for birth photography and placenta encapsulation.

Baby Bronn
Jessica Kellaway. Baby Bronn born September 2017.

(photo by: Amanda Mcghee with Kimberlin Gray Photography)

When I found out I was pregnant with my second child, the first doula I thought of in the Hampton roads area of Virginia was Kiera. I didn’t even feel the need or want to interview any other doulas. I knew that Kiera would be the perfect fit, she has a natural peace about Her and has such a sweet and calming spirit. When I went into labor she drove over an hour to get to me and she made it just in time. I was definitely at the point in labor where you are in desperate need of your doula. I was struggling to focus mentally, my labors are very fast and very intense. When I felt Kiera’s hand on my back, I knew that she was here and everything was going to be okay. She got to work very quietly and quickly, putting a wash cloth on my neck, diffusing oils, and using counter pressure on my low back. She even made me remember to believe in myself when I was struggling to do so. At one point, my doctor had to manipulate my cervix which is not comfortable. Kiera was right there feeling everything with me and feeling me how strong I was. When I was pushing she had a mirror handy, which helped me focus on the bigger picture. Once my son was born, everyone was focused on the baby but Kiera made sure I didn’t feel forgotten or left behind. She made sure I ate, drank, and was comfortable. I would definitely hire her all over again. During my pregnancy, birth, and postpartum she went above and beyond and truly honors the Doula’s practice and calling.